Pacific Arts Association-Europe

Pacific Arts Association-Europe 

The Pacific Arts Association-Europe (PAA-E) shares the stated aims of the international Pacific Arts Association (PAA).

As a result of a distinctly European focus towards the Pacific, mainly due to the history of contact between Europe and Oceania, the specific aims of PAA-E are:

  • To promote interest and research in documentation, archives, and collections of Oceania in Europe
  • To encourage diffusion of information through exhibitions, publications, symposia, broadcasting, and other media
  • To foster communication between institutions and individuals in Oceania and Europe in view of the general aims of PAA
  • To seek funds in support of the aims stated above

PAA-E members meet once a year at a museum or exhibition center in Europe, combining the visit to an exhibition or collections with presentations on recent activities in the domains of Reseach and Exhibitions.


Pacific Arts Association-Europe (PAA-E)

Executive Committee

President
Wonu Veys, Rijksmuseum voor Volkenkunde, Leiden
wonu.veys@volkenkunde.nl


Vice President
Steven Hooper, Sainsbury Research Unit, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, University of East Anglia, Norwich
S.Hooper@uea.ac.uk

Secretary
Dorothea Deterts, Uebersee-Museum Bremen
d.deterts@uebersee-museum.de

Treasurer
Roberta Colombo Dougoud, Musée d'Ethnographie, Geneva
roberta.colombo@ville-ge.ch 

 
Pacific Arts Association-Europe (PAA-E)
Administrative Council

President
Wonu Veys, Rijksmuseum voor Volkenkunde, Leiden
wonu.veys@volkenkunde.nl

Vice President
Steven Hooper, Sainsbury Research Unit, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, University of East Anglia, Norwich
S.Hooper@uea.ac.uk

Treasurer
Roberta Colombo Dougoud, Musée d’èthnographie, Geneva Roberta.colombo@ville-ge.ch

Secretary
Dorothea Deterts, Uebersee-Museum Bremen
d.deterts@uebersee-museum.de

Lissant Bolton, The British Museum, London, lbolton@thebritishmuseum.ac.uk
Christian Kaufmann, Basel
, chrkauf@yahoo.com

Jacqueline Charles-Rault,
Universtié du Havre, Le Havre, France
, jacqueline.charles-rault@univ-lehavre.fr
Anita Herle, Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology, Cambridge
, ach13@hermes.cam.ac.uk

Karen Jacobs,
Sainsbury Research Unit, Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts, University of East Anglia, Norwich
, K.Jacobs@uea.ac.uk
Magali Mélandri, Musée du quai Branly, Paris
, Magali.MELANDRI@quaibranly.fr
Markus Schindlbeck, Ethnologisches Museum, Berlin
, m.schindlbeck@smb.spk-berlin.de